Turtle Report 7/3

cropped-slow-turtle-banner1

Date: 7/3/17
Time: 7:30am – 8:30am
Weather: Mostly cloudy 80 degrees (H.I. 88)
Mood: Happy and optimistic. I hadn’t run this park yet.
Headspace: It’s kinda been floating about but I’ll talk more about below.
Weight: as of 7/1 – 315.0lbs
Plan Mileage: A hopeful 1-2 miles. Since it has been a month, I wasn’t in a training mindset. I just wanted to see where my body was.
Actual Mileage: 3.11 miles
Gear Notes: As we get deeper into July I will probably need my liter reservoir for my vest. Also, as with unpacking, I couldn’t find my UA compression shorts. Must find them!

So recently 4 out of 5 in my friend circle have taken up playing adult ice hockey. Hubby led the way and now my pals Steph, Chaney, and Christy has followed suit. Again, I feel a bit out of place being the odd man out. I cannot skate (attempted it twice) nor do I have any desire to go down that rabbit hole. I’m a hockey fan but from the sidelines.

Plus to me, IMHO, skating alone wouldn’t give me the same workout result as running does unless I played hockey (think HRM workout). So why should I spend $$$$ on gear, lessons, and league dues when I can just lace up and walk outside?
Someone would say but it’s great cross training! Well, I have a bike and yoga for that already. Again, where is the investment going if I’m not interested in the first place?

Now, the 3 who drank the Kool-Aid have begun calling the Sunday drop-in games “going to worship at church.” It makes us all giggle and I applaud their effort to be active and healthy. It’s not easy in this fast-paced world to make time for it as adults.

That phrase struck me yesterday though. I am a very spiritual person and having been raised Catholic; I see the benefit of having a regular spiritual practice. Part of me has been thinking (and hoping) that Running can become that “church/worship” mindset for me. It would take serious dedication but with a 22-mile trail right outside my apartment, I don’t think I have an excuse. 🙂

Tomorrow is the 4th of July so I’m hoping to air up the bikes this afternoon and we can go riding. Be safe out there guys! Enjoy the fireworks!

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 10.12.54 AM

Let me know what you think! Love to hear from you!

