Appetite and Anxiety

I meant to write earlier this week regarding running gear but life made an abrupt right and my anxiety got triggered at work and home.  Anyone who has suffered from it knows that it an uphill battle. An anxious mind is a strong, powerful mind, as anyone who has tried to rationalize themselves out of anxiety will tell you. An anxious mind can outrun, outpower and outwit rationality and logic any day of the week.

e96e8c44f24494f839a4e4786c9bae70

My trigger? Money and the fear of lack thereof. Even though we are fine and financially stable the idea of finances, bills, moving in June, and my personal conviction of paying off credit cards down to a manageable sum will stir up my racing “what if” thoughts every time. I was already dealing with some stress at work and Hubby texted me that he finished out taxes and this time we owed…to the tune of  $932.00 (he had been laid off and we survived on severance from Thanksgiving 2015 -February 2016). He was not happy, promptly forgot my trigger and told me at work.

Queue with the racing thoughts in 3,2,1…

I start thinking of bills; the pending move; how expensive apartments are; bills; Hubby not on permanent yet at his company…around and around the thoughts rush. My hands start shaking. I get a lump in my throat. Tears prick my eyes and all the while I know I’m having an anxiety attack and that logically I have nothing to be concerned about. Then I get super annoyed at myself while trying to steady my breathing and stop the racing thoughts. The symptoms subside for a while but then any stressor can key up the racing thoughts again.

The biggest tips I’ve found that help:

1. Distract yourself. I keep a positive quote book on my desk so I pick a page and read it.

2. At home have a signal so that your family knows you are either in the middle of an attack or riding the end of one. I have stuffed german shepherd that I latch onto. Hubby knows what that means.

3. Be AWARE:
A: Accept the anxiety. Don’t try to fight it.
W: Watch the anxiety. Imagine it is outside of you and you are just observing it.
A: ‘Act normally’. Carry on as if nothing is happening. Panic will soon ‘get bored’.
R: Repeat the above steps until you start to relax again.
E: Expect the best – it will pass quicker and quicker the more times you do this.


This was a rough week for the emotional roller coaster and the scale also reflects it. We cut spending on groceries this week due to the timing of our paychecks and rent so 2 days I ate pizza at work (the 1st and 3rd). What does surprise me… and makes me think I need to up my caloric intake…is that the weigh-ins on the next day I dropped more than a pound. Also when we ate at Carrabba’s on the 30th for our anniversary (the full spread of appetizer, salad, main, dessert) I only gained .6 the next day and soon dropped that as well.

4th:319.6
3rd: 321.2 (pizza)
2nd: 320.8
1st: 322.0 (pizza)
31st: 322.8
30th: 322.2 (annyv. dinner)

So I think we are going to change up our dinner habits this week. Instead of going the uber healthy route I’m looking to make a few the below recipes that are a little bit heavier but wholesome.

I found all of these at Budget Meals on Facebook. I highly suggest if you use this social media platform to like them and enjoy the daily suggestions. If not, I’m sure you can get emails.

Crockpot Mac and Cheese
Skillet Shepherd Pie
CopyCat Panera Chicken and Wild Rice Soup
Biscuit and Gravy Casserole 
Slow Cooker Taco Pasta
Old Fashion Goulash
Broccoli Rice and Cheese Casserole

My grocery list is ready, we’ll try the Broccoli Rice and Cheese first but I’m going to add grilled chicken tenders and the onion soup mix suggestion. I’ll take some pictures and let ya’ll know how it turns out!

Let me know what you think! Love to hear from you!

