Bullet Journaling: Fad or Fantastic?

I admit…I have a fetish.
It’s bad.
It’s worse than buying running clothes every time I walk into Kohl’s
….
I ADORE notebooks, journals and planners.
There is a thing, a creativegasm, when I get a new planner.

THIS WILL BE THE KEY TO ORGANIZING MY LIFE!!!

I WILL ACCOMPLISH MY GOALS!

I WILL FULFILL THIS PLANNER AS IF IT WAS MY DESTINY!
Circleoflife5

……3 weeks later
yep, I stop using it cold turkey.

This was an endless cycle {highly amusing to my Hubby} because what I was trying to use just was not working for me the way I needed it to. It was almost as if I needed to create my own planner, but I had no idea where to start.

I thought this last Thursday afternoon as my head swam in to do notes, blog ideas and what the hell was going to be for dinner.

Then in my HRC group on Facebook someone talked off topic about Bullet Journaling.
Never heard of it.
Never knew it existed.

I looked up the FB BuzzFeed article that was shared. I read it and it changed my life.

https://www.buzzfeed.com/rachelwmiller/how-to-start-a-bullet-journal

I began Googling Bullet Journal and found more article, hacks and tips. See Below.

https://www.buzzfeed.com/nicolenguyen/genius-ways-you-can-customize-your-bullet-journal
http://www.thelazygeniuscollective.com/blog/how-to-bullet-journal
http://www.bohoberry.com/bullet-journal-hacks/ 
http://www.tinyrayofsunshine.com/blog/bullet-journal-guide
http://dineanddish.net/2016/01/how-i-bullet-journal-and-found-planner-peace/

I became moderately obsessed with the topic and started looking at Youtube for videos of people showing their journals “flip through” videos and how they evolved over time. I researched supplies and tricks.

3 BIG things struck me…

1- You create them as you go. So you are not limited on space per week/day etc.
2- Don’t like the layout? Change it the next week.
3 -You design it to suite YOUR needs.

 

As you can see many many people tend to lean toward the arty/pretty side (Source: Google).  I like the effort to make it more expressive and flowing with the focus on handwriting skills which is a lost art in this day in age.

For me, this first round, I’m more geared to practicality, meaning I can easily & quickly have a massive brain dump onto paper before my boss comes around the cubicle to ask a question.

What I’m using:
Moleskine- graph paper 8x5ish size?
Sharpie brand pens multi colors. Fine.

What I would like to try later:
Leuchtturm 1917 notebook (sold out on Amazon but highly favored by most people it seems)
Folding ruler
Washi Tape (I need to get paid first LOL)
See Boho Berry’s video on her favorite supplies here.

As you can see from some of the pictures I’m pretty much bland right now. I don’t have anything in the way of artwork or flash.

Reaction so Far

It’s a bit early to confirm my suspicions but I really think I am becoming more productive.
Today when I got home from work I crossed off the following:

Last load of laundry
Dishes
Cleaned up bathroom
Took down the trash
Finished a blog post
Put away my clean clothes
Dusted
I’m also more likely to check off some other “Oh I should _____” thoughts which have floated out one ear as soon as I said it.

I’ll provide an update in July on how June goes. 🙂

Do you Bullet Journal? What are you favorite styles, supplies, tricks? Share below!

Let me know what you think! Love to hear from you!

