SpeedBump 06/05 & Welcome!

Welcome to the new blog! Glad to see you made your way over! here is the latest craziness I’ve been up to.

Date: 6/5/2016

Time: 7:30am
Weather: Sunny, 66 degrees, slight breeze
Mood: Happy but mentally “busy”
Headspace: Trying to fit in everything on my daily to do (Sunday was very busy)
Weight: Not gonna mention it
Plan Mileage: 2.75 miles
Actual Mileage: 3.12 running, 1.88 walking = 5 miles

I love running at Oak Point park.
However, 2 things I need to remember –

  1. After a Monsoon week it needs at least 2 weeks to dry out. It was insanely muddy. If I had been running for pace I would have been annoyed. Thankfully, I was doing intervals was the selection of the day so the slow down for mud was okay.
  2. Check the bloody map and run a different way. There is a huge equestrian field and while it’s nice there aren’t many trees and the direct sun is doing a number on me with the heat. I need to plan to go a different way next week.

I was really trying for 4 miles but I was bad and only had a granola bar for breakfast…not really going to suffice the energy needs to push for 4 miles. I really need to eat better for runs. the walking was in the afternoon during the Munzee hunting with Hubby.

I also have a problem with my running plan and I’m going to have to rethink it. Weekdays are just so tough, once I get home I’m consumed by chores or cooking and by the time dinner is done its 8pm and I have to start winding down to be asleep by 10pm. I really need 7 hours to function like a normal responsible adult.

Last time I got only 4 hours of sleep Hubby asked me why there were socks in the fridge. To which I replied, “why didn’t you ask them, yourself?”
I was promptly put into bed with Zquil.

So what I am going to try this week is bring my gear with me to work. I’ll change and “gear up” then drive home or to a nearby park and get my miles in. I have a thing that once I’m dressed to run I will just go do it. If I go home and not change immediately into my workout clothes- it just does not happen, domestic life will grab me.

So we will see how that goes.

I am also thinking about dumping Monday runs entirely OR allow for those to be done at the small gym at the apartment center. However, I know they will be renovating the office soon so who knows how long I will have that available. I need to tweak it somehow much I’m not 100% sure where I can do it.

5 days is just a lot to keep up with when you have other responsibilities and class.

**RACES**

Hogwarts Running Club has announced their 4th event of the year!
The #OneHRC House Marathon! You can read about it here. I am so excited for this!!!
It is broken down into 4 mini distances for each house.
I have Hufflepuff 5k completed and working to finish the Slytherin 6k next.

Must Dash 5K – June 18th. More info here.

Too Hot to Handle (5K) – July 10th. More info here.

More to come!

aa9a9a50b49a034968b97797333eb702

 

Let me know what you think! Love to hear from you!

