I am an Idiot twice over :)

3be6ef959e8962f140708866f170d961

I have already laid claim to that title in 2014.
It wasn’t a pretty sight.

And now…after 2 years of recovering & being lazy I’ve come back full circle. The weight I’ve shed is back and its affecting my relationship. (Though my ever loving husband would never speak the words, doesn’t mean his thoughts aren’t written on his face).
We both have been slacking in the healthy routine. While Hubby regains his energy I have to show him the way back. Hockey will only do so much. Sometimes its easier to get back into a good habit if someone else is watching and will follow suit.

My personal goals are: healthier lifestyle; more confidence; and prove to myself that I’m worth this.
So, in honor of my Sole Sister Christy who has just signed up for her first marathon that I got back into running. I needed to for some time – but now, I really want to.

When I first started running I was using the Couch to 5k (C25K) app from Zen labs to build up the endurance. 3 workouts a week for 9 weeks. I will say starting it over now I am in a much better place physically and mentally than 2 years ago.

So what’s the plan?

You can look up any training plan on Google: Hal Higdon, Jeff Galloway, Runners’ World – all are solid sources for 10-20 week training plans for whatever distance you are conquering.
The main rule of thumb I considered when designing my plan was to go SLOW. It is recommended by some to increase your long runs only by 10% a week. Maybe that is a bit too slow for my goal, but I shortened my increase to only .25/mile every week.

It came out to 34 weeks from 1 to 13.1 miles. Which makes it right on New Years Day 2017.

So this week, after all that has been going on, I finally began training. 2 rest days – 5 days of running with long runs on Saturdays. Below is the first 12 weeks. As you can see Friday and Sunday are easy days but the goal was to get the weekly mileage up.

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 8.34.29 PM

Again, I stress that I built this plan to be slower than everything I found online. I trained too hard and too fast and ran my first Half wayyy before I was ready. It was a bad and painful experience. So this time its low and slow. At 320lb I have a 20-23 minute mile. I can’t train harder or faster because of ankle problem flareups. Increasing my miles by a full mile every other week is too hard on my body at this time.

You’ll begin to see Running Log entries popping up, which holds me accountable. Hubby hasn’t seen my plan yet but I think I’ll have his support too. Hopefully, he gets well enough to also hit the pavement.

1375728_10153383743625473_1841818456_n

Christy and I = Sole Sisters after our first color run 🙂

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “I am an Idiot twice over :)

  1. Lauren M says:

    Hello Mindy! I just wanted to say I find your blog very inspiring. The way you handle things that are totally beyond your control with such honesty, intelligence and determination, is really wonderful to read! I love the running reports too – will be rooting for you from over here! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think! Love to hear from you!

