Rest and Recovery

ae0becfa4b90b8e1ab539da089ff2d41

I’ve been MIA for a while.
I didn’t mean to be but when life throws you a few curves you have to adjust.
I took the last few weeks to do just that.

Last we chatted I was trying to transfer out of my current job and into a new Department.
The good news is that I got the offer! Time flew by and I was moved and its really been a 180 degree turn around from where I had been.

I’m still learning and my 4 co workers understand that. The pace is steady but its definitely more juggling of To Dos than processing. My biggest struggle is to phase out my structured mindset from my former job because there is nothing that is structured here.

I’m loving the change though. It’s completely settled my life down and the emotional upheaval, breakdowns, stress from my old position is gone.

I’m painting again. I’m finishing up my crochet project from Thanksgiving. I’m even getting my energy back to enjoy running.

In 2012 I started running with the goal to run 12 races a year. 2013 was 24 races. 2014 was a half marathon. That half was crazy. I trained too hard too fast and I was not ready. Recovery from that was painful and the experience from that made me not want to run. So 2015 was a hiatus year for me. Off and on races but no real drive.

10365916_10209239567653263_5775263064746428763_n

The gang at the Dash Down Greenville 5K, 2016 (me, Christy, my hubby)

Its amazing how badly my job had effected me outside the office.

My best gal Christy recently joined HRC: Hogwarts Running Club (we are such nerds!) and it finally peaked my interest. You can learn about them here. I love the charity work they do and all the runs are virtual – meaning that you run them on your own. So I can break down the goal distance into sessions and train. The medals are  noting to scoff at either!

So this afternoon I have a 2 mile run to complete for the current 13K race: Umbridge Run. The suggested end date is 4/10 so I have 8 more days to get about 7miles in. I can do that!

Anyways, I wanted to touch base and say No. I have not died. 🙂 Just recovery and enjoying this new shift in life!

 

Let me know what you think! Love to hear from you!

