The 4Cs to the New Year: Clearing the Clutter

Warning, long post!

There are 4 Cs I always work on when a new year is approaching. I have pretty much dedicated December to this Magical plan.
The Cs are: Close, Clear, Cleanse and Choose.

We have covered Closing Out the Year here

Clearing the Clutter

Everything around us is made out of energy. Ourselves are made out of energy. Energy ebbs and flows like water through all life.
But have you ever seen a river polluted and stagnant? It doesn’t flow. It pools. It rots. It hurts wildlife.

die-bergkelder-river-pollution

The energy around you will act the same way. If you are surrounded by clutter, trash and dust your energy can get muted and lead to mental stress and physical illness.

How Clutter Happens

You collect things for a number of reasons–maybe you think you’ll need to use it later, it has sentimental value, or you spent good money on it so you feel you need to keep the item, even if you haven’t touched or used it in weeks, months, or years. You might be holding on to that book you bought a year ago that you swear you’ll read or those killer pair of shoes that you’ll bring out for just the right occasion.

I myself come from a family of ‘junk keepers’. Grandpa lived through WWII and the dust bowl so you kept what you found out of scarcity. One parent on that side does a variation of the same thing which I grew up watching. I hoard possible mixed media art supplies – and I know it. So I have a 6 month rule – I  write an expiration date everything with tape and a sharpie.
If past due, it gets tossed or donated.
Knowing your habits and where you got them from is the first step.

Hubby and I also hate cleaning and avoid it until it MUST be done. We don’t vacuum or dust like we should. Kitchen gets a deep cleaning every few months. We don’t detail anything until we know we are having company over like Thanksgiving

So the first C was Closing out the Year with introspection and focus on Self healing from what events happened in 2015 (or further back even).

The second C is Clearing the Clutter and IT IS what you think it is….deep dirty physical cleaning your home or workplace of what might have collected this year.

What do you have that needs to go?
Old clothes?
Plastic cups from fast food joints?
Piles of stuff to shred?
What did you buy “on sale” that you haven’t touched?

Now if you are able – some people can hired Merry Maids and have their home space deep cleaned. That’s cool, but the Maids aren’t going to organize your closet. Nor would they know what needs to be trashed like Subway receipts or your kid’s drawing from 10 years ago on the fridge. Just saying, this is personal work.

Its your clutter – you own it – you have to deal with it.

I try to do this right before the holidays; Thanksgiving usually as we have family over so it fits well with the general timeframe. Hubby and I plan to tackle a few projects a day to keep our sanity and not kill over.

If you want to take this down to “detailing” your space to be clutter free then span it out through December. Smaller bite size projects will keep the ‘overwhelm’ emotions in check.
I can’t be sued if you expire from cleaning fumes and dehydration because you went all Superman in the kitchen.

I can say, after the Thanksgiving clearing event (11/21 -11/25) I feel like I can relax. Creating this 4 part series came to mind. I don’t feel like I am suffocating or stressed at how messy it was or how the hell I was gonna manage moving in a few months. It was bad, I won’t lie.

It does feel lighter in here now and that effects the energy. Its flowing again. Flowing energy is what we want. In ritual magic we work to raise our energy so that our prayers/intentions/spells become one with the Universe and have a better success rate.

Do you want to welcome 2016 cluttered?
Or do you want a clean and cleared space to be inspired?

After all you’ll have more time to dedicate to your pursuits when you aren’t focused on…

Oh gods I can’t get anything done. I have so much to do! Piles and piles of ________ to go through. I’ll never get it all done… sigh…I’ll just do it tomorrow. I can’t handle the overwhelming feeling of trying to create right now..

What what were you just focusing on? 😉

Happy Clearing!

Blessings,
Mindy

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The 4Cs to the New Year: Clearing the Clutter

Let me know what you think! Love to hear from you!

