The Vacation: Day 4

Day 4 – Belize City, Belize 01/27 My Birthday

If you would have told me my 28th birthday would be celebrated in a foreign country with my husband of nearly 1 year I would have told you to lay off the tequila. However, karma works in mysterious ways! Today’s port was Belize City and Hubby and I had a shore excursion to see the Altun Ha Mayan ruins and the city tour.
Today there was no pier like we had in Cozumel.  Instead we were “tendering” in, meaning that Norwegian had contracted with onshore company to use their boats to ferry us over to the mainland. The ship could not come right up to the coast due to the Great Barrier Reef was literally… Right there.

The ride in was interesting as the back of the engine was smoking up. We made it to the shore in one piece but when we left we saw the boat has been tied up for maintenance.

Upon arrival we located our excursion team and got aboard our bus and our guides informed us of that we would do the North side (rich) then drive out to the ruins and on the way back was the South side of the city.
First off this was the most informative, hands on and interactive tour we had. The two ladies we had were AMAZING! Even though the ride out to the ruins was 1hr the guides made it fly by.
The only issue we had on the bus ride was when. We made the 14 mile turn off for the ruins. The road was being redone and was a dust bowl. Our driver was immune until he realized his open windows was filling the whole cabin with dust. Oops!
When we got to the ruins it was awe inspiring! Words do not do it justice at all. Our guides explains the different sites and what they were used for. The site we visited was not used for human sacrifices (I was a touch disappointed as I loved Apocalypo)  but more residential for the elite class. After the talk we were allowed to climb the largest step pyramid and I got to say the Mayans were short and all leg cause those steps were crazy! But the view! Holy shit! You could feel the presence of all those who passed when this ancient society was living. Seeing a Mayan temple was on my bucket list so to get to enjoy this outing on my birthday was extraordinary.

Sadly the climb up the ruin was short lived as we got back on the bus to finish the City tour with the South side of the town. It was well passed our normal lunch hour so when the bus stopped close to the station at a local restaurant  for free drinks we opted to enjoy lunch. The place was called the Smokey Mermaid and while it was a backyard local spot the food was very fresh and delicious. The wing appetizer and my fish and conch (never had conch before!) was finger licking fried to perfection. Hubby and I were pleasantly surprised and happy we opted for lunch here.

Finally we caught the next tenderboat out after some shopping and splatter for another wonderful nap. Cruises have a lot of naps I have come to realize 🙂 Upon arriving to our room the cruise had not brought me a cupcake like they had for my husband, I received a plate of chocolate covered strawberries!
Needless to say we nibbled on those before we crashed for another nap.
My birthday dinner was set at Cagney’s steakhouse where we enjoyed shrimp cocktail, salad and wonderful cuts of beef. They are famous for their Parmesan and truffle oil fries and now we know why! Melt in your mouth goodness.
I also got another cake for my birthday, much like hubby’s.

That makes 7 cakes so far… I think I will call this the Cake Cruise of 2015…

The show that night was the comedian who was great but I had a chocolate martini for dessert so I was hard to stay attentive when I really was yearning for my covers.

TenderBoat

TenderBoat

Bye Bye Jewel!

Bye Bye Jewel!

Northside city tour - love the colors!

Northside city tour – love the colors!

more color

more color

Altun Ha Ruins

Altun Ha Ruins

That is actually an Allspice tree (yes, where the so named spice comes from)

That is actually an Allspice tree (yes, where the so named spice comes from)

IMG_2009IMG_2011IMG_2013IMG_2014IMG_2016IMG_2022

The Altar

The Altar

On the TenderBoat back to our ship after the ruins

On the TenderBoat back to our ship after the ruins

Our Ship!

Our Ship!

YUMM!

YUMM!

Sunset

Sunset

Let me know what you think! Love to hear from you!

