Interview questions

What is Wicca

If you ask every single Wiccan in the US “what is wicca?” you will get more answers than the number of people you have asked. Reason being is that there is no set definition and each Wiccan has a different take about what Wicca means TO THEM.

Key words here… “to them”.

Anyone can look up Wicca online and find the Wikipedia description:

“Wicca is a modern pagan, witchcraft religion. It was developed in England during the first half of the 20th century and it was introduced to the public in 1954 by Gerald Gardner, a retired British civil servant. It draws upon a diverse set of ancient pagan and 20th century hermetic motifs for its theological structure and ritual practice.
Wicca is a diverse religion with no central authority or figure defining it. It is divided into various lineages and denominations, referred to as “traditions”, each with its own organizational structure and level of centralization. Due to its decentralized nature, there is some disagreement over what actually constitutes Wicca.”- Wikipedia
See, even Wikipedia can’t nail it down to one way of thinking.

The most common similarities I have found are that Wicca is the religious/moral foundation we use to build our personal beliefs on. We have our Rede, our ethics and thoughts on the Divine. Most worship the dualism of the Goddess and the God in balance. There is a deep respect for the Earth and all her children as well as a deeper understanding of the energy that connects all of us. Wiccans in general do not prophesize nor attempt to convert others by do their best to educate to dispel negative stereotypes.

Do Wiccans believe/ work for Satan?

Oh the many times I have heard this one…the short answer is No and No.

Satan is in the Christian based faiths, not ours. Those who work with this entity are called Satanists. While this is a common mistake- calling or accusing a Wiccan of being a satan-worshipper is the quickest way to tick them off and make you to be the biggest idiot in the 20th century. End of discussion.

Wiccans and Magick?

Some practice a form of craft, some do not. Some focus on prayer, herbal healing, light-working or Reiki. Others choose to practice witchcraft- the spells, conjuring, energy bending and anything in between. Everyone has a different belief of how such practices enrich their lives.
Personally, I focus my work on meditation, prayer and Reiki. I do light spellcraft but usually for others in a healing aspect. Connecting with the Angels and learning to read tarot is proving difficult still.

Wait you just said angels…Angels are Christian beings I thought?

Angels are Angels, pixies are pixies and you never feed gremlins after dark…
Jokes aside again this is “what’s your preference” again at work. I have worked with thought forms; I’ve heard Angels and seen other things I can’t wholly explain.
During Goddess work earlier this year I was trying to connect to a Matron…Gaia and Hecate were two whom I thought were calling me. You want to know how surprised I was when the Hindu Goddess Durga popped into my head “Me too!”. Talk about my jaw hitting the table!! I never considered Hindu deities!
So, point is you never know what you stumble upon or be called by. Keep your mind open.

What about this Black Magic stuff?

Magick is the bending and molding of natural energy to manifest your intention. Therefore, IMHO, energy always neutral. Your intention makes it positive or negative. If you are cursing or hexing someone yeah… that is going to come back and bite you in the ass. Karma is a mean lady! Remember it all comes back 3 times… for better or for worse.
AKA if it could backfire and ruin your life- don’t do it.

What’s with the fluff bunnies?

I have mixed emotions on the term Fluff bunnies. At one time I was considered a fluff bunny simply due to my age group. I was a young teenager and “rebelling” as any adult would generalize. I KNEW I was serious about the faith but it’s hard to convince adults who have opinions of younger generations. So I really disliked the term.
Fluff was a reference to “fluff-reading” or bawdy romance novels that had no plot and no substance, nothing scholarly about this type of reading.( I wrote fanfiction in my early years so fluff and mary sue were common used terms)
Yet, looking back at some of the characters I encountered in my youth I can see why the term fluff bunnies got coined. I remember a lot of dark natured, emo, gothic crazed drug taking kids who would do anything for some shock value. It is a safe generalization that back then claiming to be Wiccan = witchcraft = Satan to nearly any parent in the South. If you wanted to rebel from your folks it was a hell of a thorn to use.
Naturally, these kids did the Pagan community a huge disservice by their lack of serious regard to how Wicca would look to others. (they were rebelling what did they care?) So in reference to these types of young adults I can see the term existing. They weren’t serious about the faith- they just wanted to get a rise out of anyone who’d listen.
However, I admit I am a hypocrite (and human). I never liked the term but I see why it was created. Thankfully, there are many other terms we have at our disposal now, should we feel a need to use one.

Do you do it naked?

The term is skyclad. Personally, no. I like my clothes and the way they cover my body. There are some Traditions who prefer skyclad for its group rituals though many give the option if the member wants to do so.
I do shower naked though.

Coven or Solitary?

If you are asking me which is better you are asking the wrong person. 90% of my Path has been solitary and the 10% has been unfortunate experiences with prospective covens I wanted to join.

If you want to find a coven…then research, hang out and meet a few coven members. If you prefer a more simplistic intimate ritual, just you and the Divine then I’d suggest solitary. Or you can do both.

Joining a coven is no small commitment and should be given serious introspection. This isn’t joining a bookclub, this is like getting into college. Serious business.

Personally, I have yet to find a coven I gel with that I could consider joining. When I work spells and castings I know my mind and heart is in it. I don’t have any distractions. I know what to do, when to do it, to get the best possible results. Covens are much more complicated with the more people. You have to work with but also around other’s emotional (and sometimes spiritual baggage) that can and will hamper whatever you are working on. Everyone is human and has good and bad days. As a coven you will have a community to lean on with a library of experiences from your coven family. To me, the drama I have seen in some covens makes me leery. Again, that is just me.

Do you hate Christians?

No. I like and respect all faiths and the good people who try to live their lives to the best of their religious teachings. I have several Christian friends that I get along very well with!

But…

I loathe anyone who solidly believes that their way is the Only Way. Those people who preach that I am evil, a devil worshipping whore and I shouldn’t be alive… etc etc etc….
Yes, I have a problem with that. I have a problem with any extremist views of any faith. I don’t convert others and dislike anyone who tries to do it to me.
“You don’t have to agree with me. You don’t even have to like me. But you, as a moral human being should respect me and accept me as a fellow human being. “

Do you summon demons?

Am I a Satanist? No. So do I summon demons? No.

What do you call yourself? Do you have a Craft name?

No craft name at this moment.
I tend to call myself a solitary neopagan eclectic wiccan priestess. Since everyone wants to label everyone else into little boxes.

Let me know what you think! Love to hear from you!

